Skip to main content
← Change my selections

Nurse Practitioner · Licensing Roadmap

California NP to Hawaii NP License Requirements

Explore licensing pathways, application requirements, fees, fingerprinting, license verification, and compact considerations.

Last researched

Source-linked, AI-organized research. Confirm your requirements with the licensing board. This guide does not verify your license or determine eligibility.

Likely pathway

For a Hawaii APRN (nurse practitioner) license, the evidence confirms eligibility for applicants who have a current and valid Hawaii RN license. It also confirms a set of additional requirements if the applicant has never been licensed as an APRN/APN in Hawaii prior to October 1, 2009, including accredited graduate education, current unencumbered national certification, recency (30 contact hours advanced pharmacology/approved CE within the 3 years before applying), and paying the appropriate fees. It does not provide an endorsement/conversion pathway based on an existing California NP license; it only addresses whether the applicant was previously licensed as an APRN/APN in Hawaii before Oct 1, 2009.

Pathway conditions to check
  • Current Hawaii RN license requirement

    To obtain or maintain a Hawaii APRN license, a current and valid Hawaii RN license is required.

    To determine which option applies: Whether the applicant currently holds a current and valid Hawaii RN license.

    Source 1 ↗
  • Not previously licensed as APRN/APN in Hawaii before Oct 1, 2009

    If the applicant has never been licensed as an APRN/APN in Hawaii prior to October 1, 2009, additional APRN requirements apply.

    To determine which option applies: Whether the applicant was previously licensed as an APRN/APN in Hawaii prior to October 1, 2009.

    Source 1 ↗
  • Graduate education (NP track)

    Under the “never licensed prior to Oct 1, 2009” set, applicant must complete an accredited graduate-level education program leading to a nurse practitioner.

    To determine which option applies: Applicant’s graduate program completion details (accredited program leading to nurse practitioner).

    Source 1 ↗
  • National certification exam (current, unencumbered)

    Under the “never licensed prior to Oct 1, 2009” set, applicant must have current unencumbered certification verifying passage of a national certification exam by a recognized national certifying body.

    To determine which option applies: Whether applicant’s certification is current and unencumbered and from a recognized national certifying body.

    Source 1 ↗
  • 30 contact hours advanced pharmacology/approved CE within prior 3 years

    Under the “never licensed prior to Oct 1, 2009” set, applicant must complete at least 30 contact hours within the three-year period immediately preceding application, in one of the listed options (advanced pharmacology with advanced pharmacotherapeutics OR advanced pharmacology OR approved CE).

    To determine which option applies: Whether applicant completed the required 30 contact hours within the specified 3-year window and which option applies.

    Source 1 ↗ Source 2 ↗ Source 3 ↗
  • Paid the appropriate fees (amount not specified)

    Under the “never licensed prior to Oct 1, 2009” set, applicant must pay the appropriate fees.

    To determine which option applies: Fee amounts and whether applicant falls into this set.

    Source 1 ↗
  • Unencumbered RN license and APRN recognition in other jurisdictions

    Under the “never licensed prior to Oct 1, 2009” set, applicant must have an unencumbered RN license in all other states with current/active licenses and an unencumbered APRN license/recognition in all other states with current/active recognition.

    To determine which option applies: Whether applicant currently holds active/recognition in other states and whether those are unencumbered.

    Source 1 ↗ Source 2 ↗
  • Unencumbered proof across nurse licenses and prescriptive authorities

    For APRN licensure, applicant must provide proof that all nurse licenses and prescriptive authorities (or similar designations) held in any state or U.S. jurisdiction are unencumbered.

    To determine which option applies: Whether applicant can provide proof that all relevant licenses/designations are unencumbered.

    Source 1 ↗
View source

Government fees

The provided official excerpts do not list any Hawaii APRN fee amounts. The evidence only states that the applicant must “pay[] the appropriate fees,” without specifying a dollar amount.

View source

Processing time

No official processing time, review timeline, or time-to-licensure is provided in the provided excerpts. The evidence only says that failure to provide all requested information will delay processing of the application.

View source

Compact considerations

Could not confirm from the available official evidence whether Hawaii participates in the Nurse Licensure Compact for APRN practice or whether any compact-based eligibility applies to Hawaii APRN nurse practitioners.

Application requirements

The evidence includes application-form instructions for APRN licensing: an online fillable or print legibly in dark ink application, answering all questions (N/A if not applicable), signing, and notes that failure to provide all requested information will delay processing. It also identifies an APRN license application form and related required submission elements, including a graduate-level degree transcript sent directly to the Board and certification/verification sent directly to the Board. A complete step-by-step Hawaii APRN submission checklist beyond these items is not shown.

Requirements checklist
  • Current and valid Hawaii RN license — Required

    Must have a current and valid Hawaii RN license to obtain or maintain a Hawaii APRN license.

    Source 1 ↗
  • Fingerprinting for criminal history record check (timing condition) — Required

    All applicants for a Hawaii nurse license are required to be fingerprinted. Applies to applications received after July 1, 2017 and/or licenses issued on or after July 1, 2017 (as stated).

    Source 1 ↗ Source 2 ↗
  • “Never licensed as APRN/APN in Hawaii prior to Oct 1, 2009” gate — May apply

    Applies only if the applicant has never been licensed as an APRN/APN in Hawaii prior to Oct 1, 2009.

    Source 1 ↗
  • Unencumbered RN license (Hawaii) and other states (conditioned by active licenses) — May apply

    Under the “never licensed prior to Oct 1, 2009” gate: must have an unencumbered RN license in Hawaii and in other states where the nurse has current and active licenses.

    Source 1 ↗ Source 2 ↗
  • Unencumbered APRN recognition in other states (conditioned by active recognition) — May apply

    Under the “never licensed prior to Oct 1, 2009” gate: must have an unencumbered APRN license/recognition in other states where the nurse has current and active recognition.

    Source 1 ↗
  • Accredited graduate-level education leading to nurse practitioner — May apply

    Under the “never licensed prior to Oct 1, 2009” gate: complete an accredited graduate-level education program leading to a nurse practitioner (listed among APRN roles).

    Source 1 ↗
  • Current unencumbered national certification exam passage — May apply

    Under the “never licensed prior to Oct 1, 2009” gate: have current unencumbered certification verifying passage of a national certification exam by a Board-recognized national certifying body.

    Source 1 ↗
  • Recency/CE: 30 contact hours advanced pharmacology/approved CE (within prior 3 years) — Required

    Within the three-year time period immediately preceding application: complete one of the listed options with at least 30 contact hours. Options include advanced pharmacology (with advanced pharmacotherapeutics) in a graduate program, advanced pharmacology (with advanced pharmacotherapeutics), or approved CE.

    Source 1 ↗ Source 2 ↗ Source 3 ↗
  • Proof that nurse licenses and prescriptive authorities/designations are unencumbered — Required

    For APRN licensure: provide proof that all nurse licenses and prescriptive authorities (or similar designations) in any state/U.S. jurisdiction are unencumbered.

    Source 1 ↗
  • Pay appropriate fees (amount not specified) — May apply

    Under the “never licensed prior to Oct 1, 2009” gate: pay the appropriate fees.

    Source 1 ↗
View source

License verification

The evidence confirms fingerprinting for a criminal history record check for Hawaii nurse-license applicants, with timing tied to applications received after July 1, 2017 or licenses issued on/after July 1, 2017. It also includes verification of APRN/nursing specialty certification sent directly to the Board from the national certifying body recognized by the Hawaii Board of Nursing or approved by ANCC/ABNS. Other license verification mechanics (e.g., how an out-of-state RN/APRN license is verified) are not described in the provided excerpts.

View source

Fingerprinting and background checks

The evidence states that all applicants for a Hawaii nurse license are required to be fingerprinted for a criminal history record check. It also specifies that any application received after July 1, 2017 or a license issued on or after July 1, 2017 are required to be fingerprinted. No further background-check details are shown in the provided excerpts.

View source

Education and transcripts

The evidence confirms that, if not previously licensed as an APRN/APN in Hawaii prior to October 1, 2009, the applicant must complete an accredited graduate-level education program leading to a nurse practitioner. It also confirms a recency requirement: within the three-year period immediately preceding the date of application, the applicant must complete at least 30 contact hours of advanced pharmacology (including advanced pharmacotherapeutics) in specified formats, or at least 30 contact hours of continuing education from a Hawaii Board of Nursing approved source. Specific course titles beyond these categories are not shown.

View source

Documents to prepare

The evidence shows several document/verification submission elements for APRN licensure: an APRN license application form accessed via cca.hawaii.gov/pvl; legal name and residence address (residence address marked REQUIRED); graduate-level degree transcript arranged to be sent directly to the Department of Commerce & Consumer Affairs (DCCA); and verification of current nursing specialty certification sent directly to the Board from the national certifying body recognized by the Hawaii Board of Nursing or approved by ANCC/ABNS. It does not provide a complete full document checklist for all APRN applications in the provided excerpts.

View source

Responsible agency

The excerpts identify the State of Hawaii Board of Nursing context for APRN license forms, but do not provide a specific agency contact/role description beyond the instructions embedded in the forms. A dedicated contact page is not included in the provided official excerpts.

View source

Some details in marked sections could not be confirmed. The text explains what remains uncertain; confirm those details with the licensing board before applying.

Details still to confirm
  • Likely pathway

    No endorsement/conversion pathway described for applicants holding an existing out-of-state NP license (e.g., California). No explicit pathway described for applicants previously licensed as APRNs in Hawaii after Oct 1, 2009; only the “prior to Oct 1, 2009” distinction is shown.

  • Application requirements

    Provided evidence does not show a complete step-by-step APRN application checklist (beyond form instructions and certain submission items). No full instruction for how/when to submit related verification forms or what supporting documents are required for every applicant.

  • License verification

    Fingerprinting is confirmed, but the excerpt does not describe fingerprinting submission method/provider or exact process steps. Other verification items (beyond certification verification sent directly to the Board) are not described.

  • Fingerprinting and background checks

    No details on fingerprinting locations, vendors, fees, or whether additional criminal history checks are required beyond fingerprinting.

  • Education and transcripts

    No specific transcript submission process details beyond that a graduate-level degree transcript is sent directly to DCCA. No detailed curriculum/course list or clinical hours requirement shown in the provided excerpts.

  • Government fees

    No APRN fee schedule/amounts shown in the provided official excerpts; only “paid the appropriate fees.”

  • Processing time

    No processing time provided; only statement that incomplete information will delay processing.

  • Compact considerations

    Current destination-state compact participation was not confirmed by the validated evidence. Confirm participation, your license type and primary residence before relying on multistate privileges.

  • Responsible agency

    No explicit agency contact/role instructions beyond embedded form context.

  • Documents to prepare

    No complete document list (forms and all required exhibits/verifications) is shown in the provided excerpts. No explicit requirements for RN license verification submission (e.g., Nursys or other mechanisms) are included in the provided official snippets.

Text us